Old friend

I’ve driven down this road so many times before

I can do so with my eyes shut tight

The road is hazardous and its end dead

This I know

There is but one route

Nowhere to turn

Only back the way I came

Further travelled is further to re-travel

But it’s familiar, this road

It’s a friend

And so I drive on

Further down to nowhere

Maybe one day I’ll be strong enough

To stay goodbye to this repetition

But not today

No

Today I’ll say hello to an old friend

Maybe today, I’ll not have the strength to turn back

 

-CarlyLou

Leave a Reply

